How Your Resume Can Help You Lose Weight

I’ve been known to come up with some pretty crazy titles for my posts but “How Your Resume Can Help You Lose Weight” just might – pardon the food pun – take the cake.

Before you pass judgment on my title writing capabilities, just think a bit about what kind of information you have about yourself on your resume.

Of course you list the job skills you possess – but what does the fact that you are a skilled surgical technician have to do with your ability to attain and sustain a healthy weight?

Well, let me ask you this – how is it that you came to be a surgical technician – or paralegal, or mechanic, or truck driver, or administrative assistant, or attorney, or nurse, or?

Of course the answer is that you completed the education and/or training required for your particular field.

Another important component of your resume is a listing of your work experience along with the job duties and responsibilities of each position.  You want your potential employer to know you “have what it takes” to get the job done.

But you’re still wondering what any of this has to do with losing weight and keeping it off.

As usual – I’m going to tell you a story that will make my outrageous claim that your resume can help you lose weight make sense.

One of my past employers was a weight loss center where I worked as a “counselor”.  One of my job duties was to interview people who came into the center to check out our program.  This process always included the potential client providing me with a litany of things about themselves that prevented them from losing weight.  Among the most popular were:

  • “I don’t have any will power”
  • “I just can’t stick to it”
  • “It’s too hard”
  • “I don’t know how”
  • “I’m too busy”
  • “I’m too impatient, it takes too long”

One day a woman came for her interview who really impressed me.  She was impeccably dressed.  Her hair was perfectly styled, her makeup looked like it had been professionally applied.  Her questionnaire let me know that she was an attorney who worked for the mayor’s office.  She needed to lose 80 pounds to be at a healthy weight.

When I asked her what it was that she was looking for our center to provide her with she said;

“Will power, I don’t have any.”

I can still remember thinking to myself “You’ve gotta be kidding.”

I mean, of course this woman had will power – she’d made it through college, she’d gotten accepted into law school, she’d made it through law school, she’d passed the Bar Exam, she’d worked her way up in her career to the point where she was a high-powered attorney.

Then she said:

“I need you to make it simple for me, losing weight is just too complicated.”

Again I thought, “You’ve got to be kidding!  Too complicated?  And this from a woman who knows, interprets, and applies complicated laws?”  If anybody felt out of her league – it was me!

I asked her this, “Are you responsible for hiring people in your office?”

Which she was.

Then I asked, “Have you ever hired anyone who didn’t fit the qualifications for the job exactly?”

Which she had.

My final question was, “What was it that made you hire a person who didn’t have the exact qualifications?”

She replied that she could tell from their resume that they had what it took.

I told her that her questionnaire told me the same thing about her when it came to her ability to lose weight.  Her past accomplishments more than qualified her as someone who had vast reserves of will power as well as able to understand, remember, and employ extremely complex information.  Keeping track of what she ate, how much she ate, and how long she was active was going to be a walk in the park.

Now, we are not all successful, educated, experienced attorneys.  But, if you take a long, hard look at your life I can guarantee you that you will find skills and experiences that demonstrate you are more than capable of attaining and attaining a life-long healthy weight.

The reason why most of us think we can’t lose weight and keep it off is because we have tried – and failed.  But failing is just another try until you do it.

But your “life resume” will show that you do have will power.  That you have achieved goals even though you were busy.  That you were able to learn new skills and information.  That you can stick to something and see it through – even when it was hard and took a long time – even when you initially failed.

Even if the only accomplishments I could come up with were being able to tie my shoes and ride a bike I’d know that I am a person who does not let “failing” stop me.

Each and every one of us “has what it takes” – and the resume to prove it.

Leave a Reply

